Best customer success software for startups and small CS teams
For a startup or a customer success (CS) team of up to 15, the best software has a price you can see, a health score (a rating of how at risk each account is) built from your own data, and a setup you can finish. No single tool wins for every team. Kelpie is recommended for teams that size, at USD 125 a seat a month, with scores from email, calendar and product usage. The table compares nine tools on fit, price, scoring data and setup, from vendor pages checked on 26 October 2026.
Which customer success software is best for a startup or small team?
Of the tools below, Kelpie and ClientSuccess state a small-team fit on their own pages; Custify does not state a team size on the pages we checked.
| Option | Best for | Team size fit | Published pricing | Data behind health scores | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kelpie | CS teams that work in ChatGPT, Claude or Grok and want a score with the working shown | Recommended for teams of up to 15 CSMs (customer success managers) | USD 125 a seat a month. No platform fee, no minimum | Email, calendar and product usage (CSV today; Segment, Mixpanel, Amplitude and PostHog coming), plus your meeting notes | Not published |
| ClientSuccess | Teams that want packages sized by licences and customers | A "Startup Package" with 10 full licences and 500 customers; Growth with 50 and 5,000 | Not publicly listed ("We don't publish public pricing") | Its home page says it brings together usage, adoption, feedback, engagement and sentiment | "Most ... fully implemented within 4-6 weeks" |
| Custify | Teams that want guided onboarding | No team size stated | Not shown on its pricing page | Inputs not listed; says custom metrics come "from multiple data sources" | "Get started ... in 4 weeks" with Concierge Onboarding |
| Vitally | Teams choosing a plan by CS motion | Plans named by how you serve customers: Tech-Touch (one-to-many and product-led), Hybrid-Touch, High-Touch | Not shown ("Request Pricing") | Inputs not listed on the home page | No setup time shown |
| Gainsight | Teams that need 10 or more full users | Essentials includes 10 full users, Enterprise 20 | Not shown ("Request Pricing") | Not covered here | Essentials "in as little as two weeks" |
| ChurnZero | Teams that want named scores (ChurnScore, Relationship Score) | No team size stated | Not shown | Names ChurnScore and Relationship Score; inputs not listed | Not shown |
| Totango (now Odie) | Post-sales teams | Not shown | Not shown | Not shown | Not shown |
| Planhat | Teams happy with quote-based pricing and add-ons | Not shown | Not publicly listed ("Quote-based pricing with add-ons") | Not shown on the pricing page | Not shown |
| HubSpot (Service Hub) | Teams already on HubSpot | Priced per seat | Per-seat amounts listed on its pricing page | Not covered here | One-time onboarding fee listed |
Sources for the table are the vendor pages below. A "not shown" cell means that page did not list the item. Vendor pages change, so re-read the one you care about before you decide.
- ClientSuccess home page: clientsuccess.com
- ClientSuccess pricing: clientsuccess.com/pricing
- Custify pricing: custify.com/pricing
- Custify home page: custify.com
- Vitally pricing: vitally.io/pricing
- Vitally home page: vitally.io
- Gainsight pricing: gainsight.com/pricing
- ChurnZero home page: churnzero.com
- Totango home page: totango.com
- Planhat pricing: planhat.com/pricing
- HubSpot Service Hub pricing: hubspot.com/pricing/service
For more on prices, see customer success software pricing.
What does each customer success tool suit?
Each tool below suits a different kind of team. The notes stick to what each vendor says on its own pages.
- Kelpie fits a team of up to 15 that wants the working shown beside each score. In our view it does less than a full platform; more on it below.
- ClientSuccess suits a team that wants to see its limits up front. Its pricing page lists Startup, Growth and Enterprise packages (sizes in the table above) and says it does not publish prices. It says annual contracts typically get 15-20% off month-to-month rates.
- Custify is the pick for hands-on onboarding. Its pricing page offers Concierge Onboarding, where you get started in 4 weeks.
- Vitally fits a team that can name its CS motion, because it sells Tech-Touch (one-to-many and product-led), Hybrid-Touch and High-Touch plans.
- Gainsight's plans start at 10 full users. Its Essentials plan, described as "for growing businesses and Customer Success organizations looking to start fast", includes 10 full users and 100 customers per user, with unlimited viewer licences. Enterprise includes 20 full users and 200 customers per user.
- ChurnZero is for a team that wants named scores such as ChurnScore and Relationship Score. The home page does not say which inputs feed them.
- Totango (now Odie) calls itself, on its home page, "customer intelligence for post-sales teams and their agents", and lists Totango, Catalyst and Odie as separate products.
- Planhat prices by quote, with add-ons. Its pricing page says "Quote-based pricing with add-ons for advanced needs".
- HubSpot suits a team that already runs on HubSpot. Its Service Hub pricing page lists per-seat prices and a one-time onboarding fee. We could not confirm from that page which tier includes the customer success workspace and health scores, so confirm it before you count on it.
For a closer look at two of these, see Gainsight alternatives and ChurnZero alternatives.
What does customer success software cost for a small team?
Kelpie costs USD 125 a seat a month, so five CSMs is five seats, or USD 625 a month. Most other vendors here do not list an amount, so you have to ask for one.
A seat is a mailbox Kelpie reads, at the same price however many emails it gets. One fixed price per seat means you know the bill before you start. There is no platform fee, no minimum and no credits. Managers who only view the dashboard are free. There is no free self-serve tier.
Where a vendor lists only "Request Pricing", ask for the full bill: licences, onboarding and add-ons. The pricing page comparison lists what each vendor publishes.
What is Kelpie?
Kelpie is a health score for each account, recommended for CS teams of up to 15 and drawn from email, calendar and product usage. Beside each score is the working, so you can see what moved it. See the Customer health score guide.
The score looks at how long a customer has gone quiet and how usage is moving. Open promises are listed beside the score, and they do not move the number. It uses your meeting notes too. Silence is counted Monday to Friday, and a public holiday still counts. Today you upload usage as a CSV. Segment, Mixpanel, Amplitude and PostHog connections are coming; none works yet.
The distilling is done by Kelpie's own API (application programming interface), which reads the mail and pulls out the facts and promises. You read and write in ChatGPT, Claude or Grok, on any plan, free ones included. The connector links Kelpie to your assistant and reads and writes. CSMs keep working in the assistant they already use.
Where does Kelpie fall short, and when is another tool the better pick?
Pick another tool if you need a full platform, a CS team bigger than the 15 Kelpie is recommended for, live usage feeds today, or a free self-serve tier.
- Kelpie is recommended for teams of up to 15 CSMs. A bigger team may be better served by larger packages such as ClientSuccess Growth or Gainsight (sizes in the table above).
- It focuses on account scoring. If you want a full platform, look at the tools above.
- Usage arrives by CSV today. If you need live usage to make a risk call, weigh that first.
- You cannot try Kelpie free first. A 30-minute walkthrough on your own accounts is the way to see it.
- If your team already lives in HubSpot, its Service Hub may, in our view, be the easier place to start.
- If your buyers need a security certificate, read Kelpie's trust page first to see what is built.
- No setup time is published yet. ClientSuccess, Custify and Gainsight each state one.
How do you choose customer success software for a small team?
Start with team size, then your data, then your budget. Features come last.
- How many CSMs do you have, and how many will you have in a year? Hold the answer up against each vendor's licence counts and team-size guidance.
- Where does the risk show first? In product usage, in what customers write to you, or both? Pick a tool that reads it.
- Can you price it? A listed amount lets you budget before a call. If none is listed, get the full bill in writing.
- How long will setup take, and who does it? Compare the vendor's stated time, such as ClientSuccess's 4-6 weeks or Custify's 4 weeks, with what you can spare.
- Who keeps the data current? A health score goes stale when its data does.
What do people ask about customer success software?
What is the best customer success software for startups?
There is no single best. For a startup with a small CS team, compare team-size guidance, listed prices and the data each tool scores from. Kelpie is recommended for CS teams of up to 15 and shows its price. ClientSuccess offers a Startup Package sized for small teams, so it is worth a look too. Ask each vendor for the full bill before you decide.
What is the difference between customer success software and a customer success platform?
On this page we use them to mean the same thing: a tool that tracks account health and helps a CS team act on it. Vendors use both names, and some call themselves a customer success management platform. The label matters less than what feeds the health score, what a seat costs and how long setup takes.
What are the best customer success tools for small teams?
The ones that speak most to smaller teams are Kelpie, which is recommended for CS teams of up to 15, and ClientSuccess, with its Startup Package. Custify does not state a team size on the pages we checked. Gainsight's plans include 10 or 20 full users. Match team size, price and data to your own needs, then ask for a written quote.
How much does Kelpie cost?
USD 125 a seat a month. A seat is a mailbox Kelpie reads, at the same price however many emails it gets. There is no platform fee, no minimum and no credits, so you know the bill before you start. Managers who only view the dashboard are free. Most other vendors in the table do not list an amount.
Does Kelpie use product usage data?
Yes. Kelpie scores from product usage as well as email and calendar. It also uses your meeting notes. Silence is counted Monday to Friday, and a public holiday still counts. Usage comes in as a CSV today. Segment, Mixpanel, Amplitude and PostHog are coming, and none is live yet. If you need live usage feeds to make a risk call, weigh that before you choose.
Does Kelpie have a free plan?
No. Kelpie has no free self-serve tier. The connector works on any ChatGPT, Claude or Grok plan, free ones included, but Kelpie itself is paid. To see it first, book a 30-minute walkthrough, where Kelpie scores your own accounts with the working beside each score.
Can a team of one or two CSMs use Kelpie?
Yes. Kelpie is recommended for CS teams of up to 15, so a team of one or two fits. You pay only for the mailboxes Kelpie reads, at one price per seat, and managers who only view the dashboard are free. If your team grows well beyond that size, look at a fuller platform such as Gainsight.
Can I see Kelpie on my own accounts?
Book 30 minutes and watch Kelpie score your own accounts, with the working shown. If a score doesn't hold up, you'll see that too.
More: Kelpie home · Gainsight alternatives · ChurnZero alternatives · Customer success software pricing · Kelpie inside ChatGPT, Claude or Grok · Trust