Customer success MCP: which tools work inside ChatGPT, Claude or Grok
Short answer: For a customer success MCP, Gainsight, Staircase AI, Vitally, Planhat, ChurnZero and ClientSuccess each describe a connector for Claude or ChatGPT on their own pages (checked 23 October 2026). Ask what each one reads, whether it can write back, and which plan you need. Kelpie runs inside ChatGPT, Claude and Grok. It scores each account from email, calendar and product usage. Kelpie uses your meeting notes too, and it shows the working behind every score, so you can check it.
What is an MCP connector?
MCP, the Model Context Protocol, is an open standard that lets an AI assistant such as ChatGPT or Claude read from another system. A vendor ships a connector, you sign in once, and then you ask the assistant questions about your own data. Which assistants it works with, whether it can also write back, and which plan you need all depend on the vendor.
AI tools for customer success that work inside your assistant: compared
Checked on the vendors' own pages on 23 October 2026. "Assistants" is the vendor's wording. We have not tested any connector, so the table gives each vendor's own claims.
| Tool | Connector | Assistants (vendor's words) | Read or read/write | Plan requirement, if stated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gainsight | Gainsight MCP, for its CS and PX products and others | "ChatGPT, Claude, and Gemini"; "Gainsight MCP connects any MCP-enabled AI tool to live data" | Read, and create and update (CS MCP FAQ) | Needs a ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini plan with external tool connections, "in most cases ... a Team, Pro, or Enterprise plan" | https://www.gainsight.com/mcp/ · https://support.gainsight.com/gainsight_nxt/AI_Assistants/MCP_Integration/FAQ/Gainsight_CS_MCP_FAQ |
| Staircase AI (Gainsight) | "approved connector on Claude.ai" | Claude | Not stated | Not stated | https://support.gainsight.com/Staircase_AI/Release_Notes/Current_Release_Notes_-_2026/Q1_2026_Release_Notes_for_Staircase_AI (release dated 30 March 2026) |
| Vitally | Vitally MCP server | "Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini, and more" | Read/write; a separate read-only endpoint is offered | Claude Team and Enterprise plans: an owner enables it once | https://docs.vitally.io/en/articles/15862100-vitally-mcp-server · https://www.vitally.io/post/introducing-vitally-mcp-server (19 August 2026) |
| Planhat | Planhat MCP Server | "Claude, ChatGPT, and your custom apps" | Read/write (its docs tell you to review data an AI tool plans to "create, update, or delete") | ChatGPT Business, Edu or Enterprise; Claude Pro, Team or Enterprise; Planhat App Center access | https://www.planhat.com/developers/ai/mcp-server/ |
| ChurnZero | ChurnZero Connect (MCP) | "Claude and ChatGPT" | Not stated | Part of Agentic Essentials, "available for the ChurnZero Professional and Enterprise editions" | https://churnzero.com/features/customer-success-ai/ · https://churnzero.com/press-release/churnzero-launches-agentic-essentials/ (15 June 2026) |
| ClientSuccess | ClientSuccess MCP server | "Claude and other AI assistants" | Read-only | "available today through our early-access program" | https://www.clientsuccess.com/mcp |
| Trig | None found on its site, 23 October 2026. Its pages describe MCP as how its own agents reach other tools | None found | None found | None found | https://www.trig.ai/ · https://www.trig.ai/pricing |
| Totango (now Odie) | None found on its site, 23 October 2026 | None found | None found | None found | https://www.totango.com/ (homepage only) |
| Custify | None found on its site, 23 October 2026 | None found | None found | None found | https://www.custify.com/ · https://www.custify.com/pricing |
| Kelpie | Kelpie MCP server | ChatGPT, Claude and Grok | Reads and writes | Any ChatGPT, Claude or Grok plan, including their free plans | https://kelpie.pro |
"None found" means we did not find a connector on the pages we fetched. It does not mean the vendor has none.
What is different about Kelpie behind the connector?
Most of these connectors put the assistant in front of a system your team already runs. That is a reasonable way to do it, and the table lets you compare them on what each vendor states.
Kelpie reads your email itself and pulls out the facts and promises. You read and update them in ChatGPT, Claude or Grok. It scores each account from your email, calendar and product usage, and shows the working so you can check it and disagree. See how a customer health score is calculated. Kelpie uses your meeting notes too. The team shares a single record of each account, and a CSM on Claude and a CSM on ChatGPT read the same one. Day to day you work in the assistant. Managers read the book on the dashboard, and there is a small admin area for setup.
Product usage reaches Kelpie as a CSV upload today. Segment, Mixpanel, Amplitude and PostHog integrations are coming, but none is live yet.
For setup, upkeep and price side by side, see Gainsight alternatives, ChurnZero alternatives and Planhat alternatives. For more on what customer success tools cost, see customer success software pricing. See Best customer success software.
How is Kelpie priced?
Kelpie's price is USD 125 a seat a month, with no credits. A seat is a mailbox Kelpie reads. One fixed price per seat means you know the bill before you start. See how other customer success tools price.
Trig's pricing page (https://www.trig.ai/pricing, checked 23 October 2026) shows Standard from "$250 / month" for 500 accounts, with unlimited users. It charges extra for more accounts and daily monitoring, and it sells AI credit packs. Kelpie has no credits and one fixed price per seat, so the two bills are built differently. Work out both for your own setup.
What are Kelpie's limits?
- The score is only as current as your latest usage file.
- Kelpie does not read chat, your CRM or your support desk.
- It needs about 15 minutes a week from the account owner, to answer its questions.
- It is early stage. There is no SOC 2 or ISO certification. See what is and is not built.
- It is recommended for CS teams of up to 15.
Frequently asked questions
What should I ask a customer success MCP vendor?
Ask which assistants the connector works with, whether it only reads or can also write back, and which plan of the assistant you need to connect it. The table above shows what each vendor states on those three points.
Which customer success tools work inside Claude or ChatGPT?
On the vendors' own pages we checked on 23 October 2026, Gainsight, Staircase AI, Vitally, Planhat, ChurnZero and ClientSuccess each describe a connector. The table gives each one's wording, access and plan requirement. We have not tested any of them.
Does any customer success tool work inside Grok?
None of the competitor pages we checked mention Grok. Kelpie runs inside Grok today.
See it on your own accounts
Book a thirty-minute walkthrough on your own accounts. Pick an account you know well and see whether Kelpie's read of it matches yours.